Log In
Register Album reviews/comments
Collection Wish list
Circle logo
Releases : 1     Total votes : 0     Reviews : 0
Submitted by level Besi Karat (2016-12-31)


Formed1991, Pori, Satakunta
GenresExperimental Rock, Death Metal
LabelsEktro Records
Years active1991-present

Line-up (members)

  • Tuomas Laurila : Effects, Electronics
  • Jussi Lehtisalo : Bass, Vocals, Guitars (1991-present)
  • Tomi Leppänen : Drums (2003-present)
  • Janne Westerlund : Guitars, Vocals (2003-present)
  • Mika Rättö : Vocals, Keyboards, Percussion (2003-present)
  • Julius Jääskeläinen : Guitars (2009-present)
  • Pekka Jääskeläinen : Guitars (2009-present)

Former members

  • Tomi Harrivaara : Bass, Double Bass
  • Olli Joukio : Drums
  • Janne Peltomäki : Drums
  • Jyrki Laiho : Guitars
  • Jani Viitanen : Guitars, Effects, Electronics
  • Teemu Elo : Guitars, Vocals
  • Petri Hagner : Keyboards
  • Teemu Niemelä : Keyboards
  • Ville Raitio : Percussion
  • Janne Tuomi : Percussion
  • J-P. Hietaniemi : Unknown
  • Maukka Päivistö : Unknown
  • Pike Kontkanen : Violin
  • Bruce Duff : Vocals, Lead Guitars, Dulcimer
  • Marko Taipale : Bass (1991-?)
  • Juha Ahtiainen : Drums (1991-?)
  • Tommi S. : Bass, Vocals (2013)
  • Markus Hietamies : Drums, Percussion, Synthesizer (2013)
  • Rami Simelius : Guitars (2013)
  • Ville Valavuo : Guitars, Synthesizer (2013)
  • Jussi Rajala : Vocals (2013)
Videos by  youtube

Circle Discography

Album titleTypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
Circle - Incarnation preview CollectionWish List Studio - 00
Additional notes
An eclectic Finnish experimental rock group, covering genres such as krautrock, progressive rock, avant-garde and ambient, sometimes with a heavy metal edge.

The band was founded by Jussi Lehtisalo in Pori. Lehtisalo has been the only constant member throughout the band's history.

In 2013, they released a death metal album titled Incarnation. For all intents and purposes, this release was deliberately "outsourced" and recorded by a completely different lineup (Tommi S., Markus Hietamies, Rami Simelius, Ville Valavuo and Jussi Rajala), while the original musicians put out an AOR album under the moniker Falcon (ex-Circle). Nevertheless, "Incarnation" is presented as an official Circle release.

Regarding this matter, Jussi Lehtisalo notes that "the need for the sudden name change [to Falcon] arises from the Circle brand's becoming somewhat of a burden due to the expectations of Ektro Records and audiences. Making music was turning into work and an obligation. The Circle brand has been leased to a group of artists [..] The current plan is that the lease contract dissolves by the end of 2013 and the Circle brand will be returned to Falcon, who then may continue under the name Circle (ex-Falcon). All Circle concerts booked for 2013 will be performed by Circle's long standing line-up: Mika Rättö, Janne Westerlund, Jussi Lehtisalo, Tomi Leppänen, Pekka Jääskeläinen, Julius Jääskeläinen, Tuomas Laurila."

Part of the "New Wave of Finnish Heavy Metal" movement.
Info / Statistics
Artists : 31,362
Albums : 110,863
Reviews : 7,096
Lyrics : 135,105
Top Rating
 rating : 89.9  votes : 13
 rating : 84.9  votes : 30
Bound to Break
 rating : 91.9  votes : 18