Log In
Register   Help
My album reviews/commentsMy collectionMy wish list
Celtic Frost logo
Celtic Frost photo
Releases : 22     Total votes : 91     Reviews : 4
Submitted by level Eagles
Last modified by level Besi Karat

Celtic Frost

Formed1984, Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland
GenresThrash Metal, Death Metal, Black Metal, Gothic Metal, Doom Metal
LabelsNoise Records, Prowling Death, Century Media Records
Years active1984-1993, 2001-2008

Line-up (members)

  • Martin E. Ain : Bass, Vocals (1984-1985, 1986-1987, 1990-1993, 2003-2008)
  • Franco Sesa : Drums (2002-2008)

Former members

  • Isaac Darso : Drums (1984)
  • Tom G. Warrior : Vocals, Guitars (1984-1993, 2001-2008)
  • Dominic Steiner : Bass (1985)
  • Reed St. Mark : Drums (1985-1988, 1992-1993)
  • Curt Victor Bryant : Bass (1988-1990), Guitars (1990-1993)
  • Stephen Priestly : Drums (1988-1992)
  • Oliver Amberg : Guitars (1988-1989)
  • Erol Unala : Guitars (2001-2005)
Videos by  youtube


Album titleRankTypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
preview 1,894CollectionWish List EP 85.8 100
preview CollectionWish List Split - 00
preview CollectionWish List EP - 00
To Mega Therion preview 327CollectionWish List Studio 89.8 322
preview CollectionWish List EP - 00
preview CollectionWish List Single - 00
preview CollectionWish List EP - 00
Into the Pandemonium preview 1,505CollectionWish List Studio 84.3 221
preview CollectionWish List Split - 00
preview CollectionWish List Split - 00
Cold Lake preview 3,597CollectionWish List Studio 64.7 91
preview CollectionWish List Single - 00
preview CollectionWish List Video - 00
preview CollectionWish List EP - 00
Vanity/Nemesis preview 1,906CollectionWish List Studio 87.3 70
preview CollectionWish List Video - 00
preview CollectionWish List Compilation 85 10
preview CollectionWish List Demo - 00
preview CollectionWish List Demo 40 10
preview CollectionWish List Compilation - 00
preview CollectionWish List Single - 00
Monotheist preview 2,322CollectionWish List Studio 84.1 90


Celtic Frost
Celtic Frost
Additional notes
Tom G. Warrior and Martin Ain formed Celtic Frost after the breakup of Hellhammer.

They first disbanded in 1993. When they reformed in 2001, they founded their own record label called Prowling Death Records and their own publishing imprint called Diktatur des Kapitals, to gain absolute control over their music. Later, Celtic Frost and Prowling Death Records signed a worldwide licensing deal with Century Media Records. So the rights for their new material is their own and is released by Century Media.

A demo tape called 'Prototype' exists. Among other tracks, it contains two Apollyon Sun tracks, "Reliquished Body" and "Deep Inside".

"Cold Lake" is largely different from anything else they have ever recorded. The band has repeatedly disowned this release, and attribute the shocking change in style to pressure from the record company.

Singer and guitarist Tom Gabriel Fischer announced his departure from Celtic Frost on 9th of April 2008, due to "the irresolvable, severe erosion of the personal basis so urgently required to collaborate within a band so unique, volatile, and ambitious." It was confirmed in a joint statement by Fischer and Martin Ain in September that year that Celtic Frost had been disbanded again. Fischer has founded a new band called Triptykon and Ain will carry on in a new project with drummer Franco Sesa.
Info / Statistics
Artists : 28,769
Albums : 103,229
Reviews : 6,604
Lyrics : 98,227
Top Rating
To Lay Like Old Ashes
 rating : 82.9  votes : 10
Gambling With the Devil
 rating : 87.4  votes : 51
 Metal Church
The Dark
 rating : 88.6  votes : 11