Log In

The Decision Tree (We're Alive) Lyrics

Ayreon - Into the Electric Castle: A Space Opera

Into the Electric Castle: A Space Opera

TypeAlbum (Studio full-length)
GenresProgressive Metal, Rock Opera
Album rating :  93.4 / 100
Votes :  9
5. The Decision Tree (We're Alive) (6:24)
The Decision Tree (We're Alive) Lyrics
Ah, my friends! So light of foot. So swift. You have come this far. And now - here beneath the
ancient, omniscient boughs of the Decision Tree - one of you must depart this world of flesh.
Only seven may continue. Only you can decide...

let it be known I won't be the one to die here
honour and glory are heaped upon my name
let it be clear I'm not the one who cries here
what about the tall one, the one who's lost to shame

I've followed princes, I've raised their bloody banners
I've killed and wounded on the side of right
I've reaped the harvest, scattered fields with ashes
I've buried children, sowed the seeds of hate

[all (chorus:)]
we're alive
we'll survive
we will strike for
our freedom
we're alive
we'll survive
we'll arrive in our

I've followed princes
I've followed kings
I will take their lead no
I will not lie
in shallow graves
(I'm nobody's slave)

let it be known, by Thor the god of lightning
I have been chosen to do battle at his side
let it be clear I was born to go down fighting
what about the craven, the one who's lost his pride

don't speak to me of homour, pride and glory
I've tasted blood, seen your type before
you talk of battle but all you tell are stories
you'd see me buried in a shallow grave

[all (chorus), highlander]
Submitted by level 14 Sathanas (2011-05-30)
Ayreon - Into the Electric Castle: A Space Opera
Into the Electric Castle: A Space Opera - Album Credits
Additional musicians
  • Ton Scherpenzeel : Keyboards
  • Robby Valentine : Piano, Keyboards, Mellotron
  • Clive Nolan : Keyboards
  • René Merkelbach : Keyboards, Harpsichord
  • Roland Bakker : Hammond Organ
  • Thijs van Leer : Flute
  • Ernö Olah : Violin
  • Taco Kooistra : Cello
  • Jack Pisters : Sitar
  • Anneke van Giersbergen : Vocals as "The Egyptian"
  • Peter Daltrey : Vocals as "Forever of the Stars"
  • Fish : Vocals as "The Highlander"
  • Sharon den Adel : Vocals as "The Indian"
  • Damian Wilson : Vocals as "The Knight"
  • Edwin Balogh : Vocals as "The Roman"
  • Jay van Feggelen : Vocals as "The Barbarian"
  • Edward Reekers : Vocals as "The Futureman"
  • Robert Westerholt : Vocals as "Death"
  • George Oosthoek : Vocals as "Death"
Other staff
  • Arjen Anthony Lucassen : Producer, Engineer
  • Oscar Holleman : Mixing Engineer
  • Peter van 't Riet : Mastering Engineer
  • Jef Bertels : Cover Art, Artwork
  • John van der Oetelaar : Layout
  • Thomas Ewerhard : Layout
Info / Statistics
Artists : 34,327
Reviews : 7,872
Albums : 122,330
Lyrics : 151,912