Log In
Album reviews/comments
Album Photos


TypeStudio Full-length[collaboration]
GenresDrone, Drone Metal
LabelsSouthern Lord Recordings
Ranked#127 for 2006 , #3,339 all-time
Reviews :  0
Comments :  6
Total votes :  6
Rating :  82.5 / 100
Have :  2       Want : 0
Write a Comment
Write a Review
Add to Collection
Add to Wish List
Submitted by level 15 김한별
Last modified by level 21 Eagles
Videos by  youtube
Altar Information

Track listing (Songs)

3.The Sinking Belle (Blue Sheep)7:37-0
4.Akuma No Kuma7:52-0
5.Fried Eagle Mind9:47-0
6.Blood Swamp14:46-0

Line-up (members)

  • Sunn O)))
  • Greg Anderson : Synths
  • Stephen O'Malley : Guitars, Synths
  • Boris
  • Takeshi Ohtani : Bass, Guitars, Vocals
  • Atsuo Mizuno : Drums, Vocals
  • Wata : Guitars, Vocals

Guest / additional musicians

  • Adrienne Davies : Percussion
  • Troy Swanson : Synthetizers, Oberheim
  • Randall Dunn : Synthetizers, Korg MS-20, Sherman Filter Bank, Echoplex
  • Dylan Carlson : Guitars
  • Mell Dettmer : Roland SH-101
  • Eyvind Kang : Viola, Violin
  • Jesse Sykes : Vocals
  • Kim Thayil : Guitars
  • Joe Preston : Vocals
  • Phil Wandescher : Vocals
  • Bill Herzog : Upright Bass, Vocals
  • Rex Ritter : Moog Taurus
  • Tos Niewenhuizen : Korg MS-20, Oberheim
  • Steve Moore : Trombone

Production staff / artist

  • Mell Dettmer : Mastering
  • Randall Dunn : Recording, Engineering, Mixing
  • Atsuo Mizuno : Artwork
  • Aaron Horkey : Artwork
Recorded at Litho, October 2005.
Additional Recording at Aleph, December 2005.
Mixed at Avast, June 2006.
Mastered at Sinister Kitchen, July 2006.

This is a full collaboration of the bands Sunn O))) and Boris as well as several other artists:

- Jesse Sykes (vocalist: Jesse Sykes and the Sweet Hereafter) vocals on "Sinking Belle".
- Kim Thayil (Soundgarden) guitar on "Blood Swamp".
- Joe Preston (Earth, Thrones, Melvins, High On Fire) vocals on: "Akuma No Kuma".
- Bill Herzog, Phil Wandescher (Jesse Sykes and the Sweet Hereafter), Rex Ritter (Jessamine, Fontanelle), Tos Niewenhuizen (Beaver, GOD) , and Steve Moore (earth) all make contributions to this album as well.

Artwork is done by illustrator extraordinaire Aaron Horkey of Burlesque Design and Atsuo Mizuno, the drummer of Boris.

Japanese bonus track:
6. The Sinking Belle (Black Sheep)
Japanese vinyl bonus track:
The Sinking Belle (White Sheep)

2xCD version limited to 5,000 copies. CD2: "SatanOscillateMyMetallicSonatas"`
1. Her Lips Were Wet With Venom
(this track is a 28 minute drone piece that features Sunn O))), Boris and Dylan Carlson from Earth).

Altar Comments

level 16   (80/100)
근 10년전, 이 밴드를 처음 접했을땐 이게 음악인가, 불쾌하다 등의 느낌이었다. 지금도 이 앨범은 명반이다 라는 생각은 여전히 안 들지만 청자를 잠식하는듯한 그 분위기 형성에는 찬사를 보내는 바이다.
level   (90/100)
level 9   (95/100)
A Drone Metal masterpiece. There are droning, ridiculously heavy brain numbing tunes atop another atop another, and it's like getting your brain mashed. Amazing.
level 17   (45/100)
jedna dobrá pieseň nezachráni totálne slabé album - to isté ako u predošlých - bieda!
level 9   (95/100)
level 19   (90/100)
길게 설명이 필요없습니다..시간이 참 잘갑니다^^
Contributors to this album
Info / Statistics
Artists : 32,912
Reviews : 7,513
Albums : 115,412
Lyrics : 143,899