Log In

In the Nightside Eclipse

TypeStudio Full-length
GenresSymphonic Black Metal
LabelsCandlelight Records
Ranked#3 for 1994 , #45 all-time
Reviews :  3
Comments :  82
Total votes :  85
Rating :  91.8 / 100
Have :  32
Want : 2
Submitted by level 21 Eagles
Last modified by level 21 Eagles
Videos by  youtube
Album Photos  (7)
Emperor - In the Nightside Eclipse photo by 버닝앤젤Emperor - In the Nightside Eclipse photo by ZyklusEmperor - In the Nightside Eclipse photo by EaglesEmperor - In the Nightside Eclipse photo by SingedEmperor - In the Nightside Eclipse photo by akflxpfwjsdydrlEmperor - In the Nightside Eclipse photo by 똘복이
In the Nightside Eclipse Information

Track listing (Songs)

2.Into the Infinity of Thoughts8:1497.811
3.The Burning Shadows of Silence5:3688.18
4.Cosmic Keys to My Creations & Times6:0691.19
5.Beyond the Great Vast Forest6:0188.67
6.Towards the Pantheon5:5788.18
7.The Majesty of the Nightsky4:5488.67
8.I Am the Black Wizards6:0192.510
9.Inno A Satana4:4897.510

Line-up (members)

  • Ihsahn : Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Lyrics, Music
  • Samoth : Guitars, Lyrics, Songwriting
  • Tchort : Bass
  • Faust : Drums

Production staff / artist

  • Emperor : Producer
  • Pytten : Producer, Mixing Engineer
  • Necrolord : Cover Art
  • Christophe Szpajdel : Logo
The 1999 and 2004 remasters include 2 bonus tracks:
10. A Fine Day to Die (Bathory cover) (8:29)
(Recorded during the "Anthems..." sessions)
11. Gypsy (Mercyful Fate cover) (2:58)
Charmand Grimloch performs keyboards on this track.
The Intro is combined with track 02. "Into the Infinity of Thoughts" which makes a general time of 9:06.

Released in 1995 in the US on Century Black Records.

Re-issued in 2004 under Candlelight Records. The reissue includes edited material from a live show in Oslo for the song "Towards the Pantheon", as well as various other clips from live recordings in 1997.

Re-released in 2006 by Back on Black as gatefold LP.

Re-issued by Candlelight Records in 2007 as a numbered limited edition boxed set.

2014 reissue celebrating the record's 20th anniversary will feature 'In the Nightside Eclipse' in double-disc hardback digibook. The first disc features the original tracks together with As the Shadows Rise EP. Both remastered. Second disc is the 1993 alternative album mix taken from never before release The Akkerhaugen Tapes 1993 featuring pre-production / rehearsal materials.

"Inno a Satana" is Italian for "Hymn to Satan".

Both "Cosmic Keys to My Creations & Times" and "I Am the Black Wizards" are re-recorded versions of songs that originally appeared on the "Emperor" EP.
"Beyond the Great Vast Forest" is a re-worked/re-recorded version of the song "My Empire's Doom" from the "Wrath of the Tyrant" demo with new lyrics .

The intro isn't listed on most versions of the album.

Emperor Discography

Album titleTypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
EP 60 10
EP 85 30
Studio 91.8 853
EP 75 10
Studio 89 293
Studio 82.6 193
Live 85.5 42
Studio 87.7 273
Live 85 50
Contributors to this album
Info / Statistics
Artists : 33,712
Reviews : 7,667
Albums : 119,642
Lyrics : 146,919