Log In
Asphyx logo
Albums : 27     Total votes : 20     Reviews : 0
Submitted by level 12 Nalza[Sky]
Last modified by level 17 GloomingOldGuy


Formed1987, Oldenzaal, Overijssel
GenresDeath Metal, Doom Metal
LabelsCentury Media Records

Line-up (members)

  • Martin van Drunen : Vocals (1990-1992, 2007-present), Bass (1991-1992)
  • Paul Baayens : Guitars (2007-present)
  • Alwin Zuur : Bass (2010-present)
  • Stefan Hüskens : Drums (2014-present)

Former members

  • A.J. van Drenth : Unknown
  • Joost : Bass, Vocals (1987-1988)
  • Christian Colli : Bass, Vocals (1987-1989)
  • Bob Bagchus : Drums (1987-1993, 1996, 1997-2000, 2007-2014)
  • Tony Brookhuis : Guitars (1987-1989)
  • Ronnie van der Wey : Guitars (1988-1989, 1995)
  • Theo Loomans : Bass, Guitars, Vocals (1989-1990, 1996, 1997) (R.I.P. 1998)
  • Eric Daniels : Guitars (1989-1995, 1997-2000)
  • Ron van Pol : Bass, Vocals (1992-1994)
  • Sander van Hoof : Drums (1994)
  • Heiko Hanke : Keyboards (1994)
  • Wannes Gubbels : Bass, Vocals (1997-2000, 2007-2010)
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Asphyx - Incoming Death CD Photo by dragon709Asphyx - The Rack CD Photo by 신길동옹Asphyx - Asphyx CD Photo by respinmusicAsphyx - Incoming Death CD, DVD Photo by 신길동옹Asphyx - Live Death Doom CD, DVD Photo by 신길동옹Asphyx - Crush the Cenotaph CD Photo by 똘복이

Asphyx Discography

AlbumLyrics TypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
Asphyx - The RackLyricsAlbum85.580
Asphyx - Last One on EarthLyricsAlbum79.450
Asphyx - AsphyxLyricsAlbum-00
Asphyx - God CriesLyricsAlbum-00
Asphyx - Embrace the DeathLyricsAlbum-00
Asphyx - On the Wings of InfernoLyricsAlbum-00
Asphyx - Death... the Brutal WayLyricsAlbum72.520
Boxed set-00
Asphyx - DeathhammerLyricsAlbum83.330
Boxed set-00
Asphyx - Incoming DeathLyricsAlbum9010

Best Asphyx Songs

1Incoming Death (2016)1001
2Last One on Earth (1992)951
Additional notes
Asphyx was formed in 1987 by Bob Bagchus and Tony Brookhuis. Christian Colli was picked up for vocals and bass. This line up recorded the first two demos, after which Eric Daniels was added.

In March 1989 Colli was replaced with Theo Loomans and the band recorded the Crush the Cenotaph demo. Brookhuis then left the band and the remaining three recorded Embrace the Death album which was never released due to label problems.

After Martin van Drunen left Pestilence in the early 1990s, he joined Asphyx and the band signed to Century Media Records. After the release of their debut album, The Rack, they went on a European tour with Entombed. Followed by a tour with Bolt Thrower and Benediction in 1992.

Shortly after the recording of the second album, Last One on Earth, Van Drunen left the band, to be replaced by Ron van Pol. Eventually Baghus left the band as well, and was replaced by Roel Sanders for the recording of the 1994 self-titled album. At that point, the only member of the classic line-up still left in the band was Eric Daniels.

The self-titled album was released in 1994 and led to the band's demise in 1995.

In 1996 Loomans and Baghus reformed Asphyx and recorded the God Cries album. Around the same time also the Embrace the Death album was finally released. Nevertheless the band split-up again after the release. In 1996 Soulburn was founded by Baghus and Daniels and together with Pentacle singer and bassist Wannes Gubbels they recorded the Feeding on Angels album.

In 1999 they renamed the project Soulburn into Asphyx and recorded the On the Wings of Inferno album with the same line-up. However, Asphyx disbanded once again in 2000.

In January 2007, the band re-united again with members of the classic line-up Bagchus and Van Drunen, along with Gubbels and new guitarist Paul Baayens.
Info / Statistics
Artists : 35,413
Reviews : 8,489
Albums : 127,050
Lyrics : 163,447