Login  Register  Help
My album reviews/comments My collection My wish list
Carcass logo
Carcass photo
Releases : 25     Total votes : 245     Reviews : 25
Submitted by level Eagles
Last modified by level Besi Karat


CountryUnited Kingdom
Formed1986, Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
GenresGoregrind, Death Metal, Melodic Death Metal, Death 'n' Roll
LabelsEarache Records, Nuclear Blast
Years active1985-1986 (as Disattack), 1986-1995, 2007-present

Line-up (members)

  • Jeff Walker : Bass, Vocals (1986-1995, 2007-present)
  • Bill Steer : Guitars, Vocals (1986-1995, 2007-present)
  • Daniel Wilding : Drums (2012-present)
  • Ben Ash : Guitars (2013-present)

Former members

  • Ken Owen : Drums, Vocals (1987-1995)
  • Sanjiv : Vocals (1987)
  • Michael Amott : Guitars (1990-1993, 2007-2012)
  • Carlo Regadas : Guitars (1994-1995)
  • Daniel Erlandsson : Drums (2007-2012)
Videos by  youtube


Album titleRankTypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
Reek of Putrefaction preview 1,556CollectionWish List Studio 82.4 304
preview CollectionWish List EP 77.5 20
Symphonies of Sickness preview 541CollectionWish List Studio 89.1 233
Necroticism: Descanting the Insalubrious preview 752CollectionWish List Studio 86.7 283
preview CollectionWish List EP 90 20
preview 1,117CollectionWish List EP 90.7 71
Heartwork preview 131CollectionWish List Studio 89.9 605
Swansong preview 782CollectionWish List Studio 86.4 293
Surgical Steel preview 183CollectionWish List Studio 89.2 544
preview CollectionWish List EP 85 10



Top Songs

Song titleAlbum titleRatingVotes
1 Heartwork preview (1993) 95.77
2 Corporal Jigsore Quandary preview (1992) 96.73
3 Buried Dreams preview (1993) 915
4 Carnal Forge preview (1993) 905
5 Black Star preview (1996) 92.52
6 Incarnated Solvent Abuse preview (1992) 92.52
7 Keep On Rotting in the Free World preview (1996) 951
8 Tomorrow Belongs To Nobody preview (1996) 951
9 Pedigree Butchery preview (1992) 902
10 Arbeit Macht Fleisch preview (1993) 86.34
11 Death Certificate preview (1993) 86.34
12 This Mortal Coil preview (1993) 854
13 R**k the Vote preview (1996) 901
14 No Love Lost preview (1993) 83.84
15 Embodiment preview (1993) 83.84
16 Blind Bleeding The Blind preview (1993) 83.84
17 Doctrinal Expletives preview (1993) 804
18 Cross My Heart preview (1996) 751
19 Inpropagation preview (1992) 751
20 Symposium Of Sickness preview (1992) 751
21 Lavaging Expectorate Of Lysergide Composition preview (1992) 751
22 Child's Play preview (1996) 701
23 Room 101 preview (1996) 701
24 Polarized preview (1996) 701
25 Generation Hexed preview (1996) 701
26 Firm Hand preview (1996) 701
27 Don't Believe a Word preview (1996) 701
28 Go To Hell preview (1996) 701
29 Carneous Cacoffiny preview (1992) 701
30 Forensic Clinicism / The Sanguine Article preview (1992) 701
Additional notes
Carcass is considered to be the major inspiration and musical foundation for most deathgrind/goregrind bands, as well as being one of the founding fathers of melodic death metal when they had switched their genre to the melodic death metal sound by the early '90s.

The band was first known as Disattack, playing hardcore punk back in 1985. After releasing their first demo in 1986, their bass player left the band and Jeff Walker joined them after leaving Electro Hippies. By that time, they were also changing their name to Carcass, whose logo was drawn by Jeff Walker. Soon their drummer was replaced by Ken Owen and the singer by Sanjiv. Bill Steer also left Napalm Death in order to concentrate on Carcass.

Carcass started as a goregrind band which they carried out on their demo tapes, and first two albums, then moved to a death metal sound which evolved into their melodic death and heavy metal roots before their split. Their Heartwork album, released in 1993, is one of the first melodic death metal albums ever released.

Bill Steer moved into the stoner rock band Firebird (not to be confused with the 1978 NWOBHM band Firebird, Mike focused on his retro band Spiritual Beggars before forming a side-project with his brother Chris called Arch Enemy which went on to become very successful. Jeff, Ken and Carlo formed the short-lived Blackstar after the demise of Carcass.

At the age of 28, Ken Owen had a brain haemorrhage, and was in a coma for almost a year. He was confined to a wheelchair for a time, but has since partially recovered and despite heavily confined movement has began playing drums again.

Carcass reunited in 2007 for touring purposes. Despite Ken Owen starting to play drums again, he is still unable to perform to the level required for Carcass. Daniel Erlandsson of Arch Enemy replaced him for touring purposes. Despite this, Owen has been involved in the reunited band's activities, and makes brief appearances at selected live shows.

Amott and Erlandsson both left Carcass in 2012 when the reunion became a full-time one, in order to avoid scheduling conflicts with Arch Enemy.

A UK edition of Bjork's "Isobel" single has a version of the song "remixed" by Carcass (in fact it was just the vocals to the original song mixed over an entirely new piece of music).

Jeff Walker appears on the release The Final Remixes by Die Krupps with a cover version of their track Inside Out.

The track 'Captive Bolt Pistol' from Surgical Steel was featured in a 2014 episode of the American CBS television show Elementary.
Info / Statistics
Bands : 28,015
Albums : 101,016
Reviews : 6,544
Lyrics : 90,478
Top Rating
 rating : 89.8  votes : 37
 Primal Fear
 rating : 90.8  votes : 18
 rating : 86.4  votes : 29