Log In
Register   Help
My album reviews/commentsMy collectionMy wish list

The New Black

TypeStudio Full-length
Release date
GenresExtreme Metal, Industrial Metal, Progressive Metal
LabelsCentury Media Records
Running time42:44
Ranked#84 for 2006 , #2,019 all-time (top 55%)
Reviews :  0
Comments :  8
Total votes :  8
Rating :  86.3 / 100
Have :  4       Want : 0
Write a Comment
Write a Review
Add to Collection
Add to Wish List
Submitted by level Eagles
Last modified by level Besi Karat
Videos by  youtube
The New Black Information

Track listing (Songs)

2.You Suck2:40-0
3.Anti Product3:56-0
5.Wrong Side3:35-0
7.Far Beyond Metal4:36-0
9.Almost Again3:44-0
11.The New Black6:16-0

Line-up (members)

  • Devin Townsend : Guitars, Vocals, Keyboards, Programming
  • Jed Simon : Guitars
  • Byron Stroud : Bass
  • Gene Hoglan : Drums
  • Guest/session musicians:
  • Cam Kroetch : Vocals on "You Suck"
  • Bif Naked : Vocals on "Fucker"
  • Oderus Urungus : Vocals on "Far Beyond Metal"
  • Will Campagna : Keyboards
  • Doug Gorkoff : Cello
Recorded at the Armoury and Profile studios in Vancouver, BC.
Mastered by UE Nastasi at Sterling Sound, New York.
Pre-production done at Heathen Choppers, Vancouver.

"Far Beyond Metal" is a song SYL had written many years earlier, but until the recording of this album had only ever performed live. It first appeared on the "No Sleep Till Bedtime" live album in 1998 and was also featured on the "For Those Aboot to Rock" DVD.

The European release date was July 17, 2006.

Bonus tracks on the limited edition Digipak version:
12. The Long Pig (1:30)
13. Zodiac (Melvins cover) (4:00)

Bonus tracks for Japan:
12. The Long Pig
13. C:enter:###
14. Wrong Side (Promotional Video)

Some copies came with a bonus sampler disc from Century Media promoting (then) newly released albums by other bands on their roster, with the following track list:

1. Shadows Fall - "In Effigy"
2. Arch Enemy - "My Apocalypse"
3. God Forbid - "Chains Of Humanity"
4. Behemoth - "Slaves Shall Serve"
5. The Haunted - "99"
6. Lacuna Coil - "Our Truth"

A video was shot for "Wrong Side" with director David Brodsky.

The New Black Comments

level   (85/100)
좀 더 제정신같은 앨범이네요.
level   (85/100)
그냥 SYL의 앨범이다. 별다른 특징이 없다는게 아쉽지만 마지막 결과물이니 뭐...
level   (85/100)
좀 순해진 느낌이 들긴 하지만 이 정도면 수작.
level   (80/100)
간간히 즐겨 듣는 앨범이다. 특히 The Antiproduct 곡은 매우 매력 적인데 중반부 트럼펫,플룻 솔로는 왠지 뉴욕 할렘가를 연상 시키는 느낌 이었다.
level   (85/100)
zatiaľ a pravdepodobne aj natrvalo ich posledné album, dobrá rozlúčka
level   (88/100)
마지막이어서 아쉬운, 많이 멜로딕해지고 부드러워진 모습이다. 그래도 이들의 매력은 충분히 살아있다.
level   (94/100)
Why is everything on this site in Korean?
level   (88/100)
Wrong Side 하나만으로도 충분히 이 점수를 받을 수 있는 앨범

Strapping Young Lad Discography

Album titleTypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
preview Studio 79 30
preview Studio 88 231
preview Studio 85.9 100
preview Studio 89.5 100
preview Studio 86.3 80
Contributors to this album
Info / Statistics
Artists : 29,083
Albums : 104,347
Reviews : 6,629
Lyrics : 99,388
Top Rating
Cast Into Fields of Evil Pleasure
 rating : 86.4  votes : 20
Feel the Fire
 rating : 87.6  votes : 11
 rating : 82.6  votes : 35