Log In
Register   Help
My album reviews/commentsMy collectionMy wish list

The Man with No Face

TypeStudio Full-length
Release date
GenresTechnical Death Metal, Progressive Death Metal, Deathcore
Running time1:06:33
Reviews :  1
Comments :  2
Total votes :  3
Rating :  86.7 / 100
Have :  0       Want : 4
Write a Comment
Write a Review
Add to Collection
Add to Wish List
Submitted by level 함초롬
Last modified by level 함초롬
Videos by  youtube

Track listing (Songs)

2.Rational Thinking, Logical Future2:23-0
3.City Of Ghosts4:05-0
4.Time Unwinding5:38-0
5.Of Gallows7:55-0
6.As Written In Pnakotus5:58-0
9.The Chasm5:32-0
10.The Man With No Face21:08-0

Line-up (members)

  • Gareth Edwards : Vocals
  • Jonas Johansson : Guitars, Drums
  • Jack Magerio Richardson : Bass
After two years of work, we're ready to unleash our first full-length album "The Man With No Face."
The album will be out on March 1st to coincide with the 2 year anniversary of the release of our first EP "Cleansed."
Composed entirely by Jack "Magero" Richardson, the album features 10 tracks of mind-expanding, visionary progressive metal, including a 20+ minute epic composed of 5 movements with its own musical mythology.
Aside from that, the album explores technical death metal savagery, an increased focus on orchestral composition, and bold new ambience laden realms of metal, with a more experimental approach to vocals and powerful philsophical lyrics that weave an epic tale about a spiritual quest to transcend dualism in a world of black and white morality.


Reviewer :  level   (90/100)
Date : 
Slice The Cake는 2009년에 결성된 다국적 데스코어 밴드로, 보컬인 Gareth Edwards는 England, 메인기타와 드럼 프로그래밍을 맡은 Jonas Johansson은 Sweden 출신이다. EP앨범 Cleansed가 상당한 입소문을 타고 인기를 얻게 된 후, 이들은 호주 출신의 베이시스트 Magero Richardson을 영입했다. 본작은 데모에서 들려주었던 형식의 악곡을 한층 업그레이드한 것으로 평가받고 있다. 셀프 릴리즈로 데뷔한 밴드는 현재 Myriad Records에 있으며, Ever Forthright, The Schoenberg Automation, Bleeding Skies등 테크니컬 데스/프록 코어 밴드들이 소속된 곳이다. 최근 미국을 중심으로 쏟아져 나오는 Technical Death / Progressive Death/Metalcore계열도 그 수가 많아지고 작법이 반복됨에 따라 한계성을 드러내고 있는 가운데, 이들은 해당 범주에서 벗어나지 않으면서도 멋진 곡 구성력과 장중한 분위기, 장르 특유의 엄청난 테크니션으로 어느정도 개성을 뚜렷이 한 것으로 보인다. 데뷔앨범임에도 불구하고 대단한 퀄리티를 자랑하고 있으며, 테크니컬한 기타 리프가 쉴새없이 몰아치다가도 어느새 BTBAM이나 The Faceless를 연상케 하는 잔잔한 구간을 선보이고 있다. 덕분에 곡의 길이가 결코 짧지는 않은데, 그것이 오히려 밴드의 다채로운 음악적 영감을 펼쳐주고 있다는 것에 감탄하지 않을 수 없다. 프로그래밍 답지 않게 드러밍의 파워와 드라이브감이 확연히 살아있는 것도 감상에 도움이 된다. 앨범 중반부에서 강렬한 비트와 웅장한 신디 스트링사운드, 그리고 맑은 클린보컬로 분위기를 휘어잡는 Of Gallows, 파도소리로 시작하여 클린/하쉬 보컬이 교차되는 대곡 The Man With No Face가 추천할 만한 트랙인데, 특히 마지막 타이틀 곡은 20분이라는 엄청난 러닝타임을 아기자기하게 잘 꾸며놓아 지루할 틈이 없다. 프록 코어 장르에서 이러한 스펙트럼을 구현할 수 있다는 것이 놀라울 따름.


level   (80/100)
테크니컬한 면모가 크게 드러난다. 분위기도 대체로 어두워 마음에 든다.
level   (90/100)
데뷔작이 이정도 퀄리티라니..


Album titleTypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
preview Studio 86.7 31
preview Studio 86.7 30
preview Studio 87.5 20
Info / Statistics
Artists : 28,789
Albums : 103,288
Reviews : 6,606
Lyrics : 98,261
Top Rating
 rating : 81.9  votes : 13
At the Heart of Winter
 rating : 90.5  votes : 24
Tales of the Sands
 rating : 90.8  votes : 12