Login  Register  Help
My album reviews/comments My collection My wish list
Porcupine Tree - Lightbulb Sun cover art

Lightbulb Sun

TypeStudio Full-length
Release date
GenresProgressive Metal, Progressive Rock, Psychedelic Rock
LabelsSnapper Records
Running time56:17
Ranked#34 for 2000 , #1,203 all-time (top 33%)
Reviews :  0
Comments :  5
Total votes :  5
Rating :  92 / 100
Have :  0       Want : 0
Write a Comment
Write a Review
Add to Collection
Add to Wish List
Submitted by level 제주순둥이
Videos by  youtube

Track listing (Songs)

1.Lightbulb Sun5:301001
2.How Is Your Life Today ?2:46901
3.Four Chords That Made A Million3:36951
5.Last Chance To Evacuate Planet Earth Before It Is Recycled4:48901
6.The Rest Will Flow3:151001
8.Where We Would Be4:12901
9.Russia On Ice13:041001
10.Feel So Low5:18901

Line-up (members)

  • Steven Wilson : Vocals, Guitars, Piano, Mellotron, Hammered Dulcimer, Samples, Banjo, Harp, Production
  • Richard Barbieri : Synthesizers, Hammond Organ, Fender Rhodes, Clarinet, Mellotron
  • Colin Edwin : Bass, Drum Machine, Guimbri
  • Chris Maitland : Drums, Backing Vocals
  • Additional Musicians
  • Stuart Gordon : Violin, Viola
  • Nick Parry : Cello
  • Eli Hibit : Backup Rhythm Guitar
  • The Minerva String Quartet
  • Katy Latham : Violin
  • Lisa Betteridge : Violin
  • Sarah Heines : Viola
  • Emmeline Brewer : Cello
Special edition second disc:
1. Buying New Soul (edit) (6:07)
2. Pure Narcotic (5:14)
3. Tinto Brass (live) (6:43)
4. The Rest Will Flow Strings Track (2:05)
5. Piano Lessons (video)
Total time: 01:16:16

A reissue of Lightbulb Sun was released on 21 April 2008 through Kscope as 2 disc set; or a 3 disc set for the first 5,000 pre-ordered copies. Disc one is a CD containing a remastered version of the original album, while disc two is a DVD-A containing the album remixed into 5.1 surround sound. Disc 2 also contains three bonus tracks at the end: "Disappear", "Buying New Soul", and "Cure for Optimism", which were recorded during the same sessions.[1] A limited edition third disc contains two instrumental tracks: "Novak", the b-side to the original 7" "Shesmovedon" single; and "Buying New Soul (Instrumental Backing Track)", the original version of "Buying New Soul", with 4 minutes more music that were cut at the same time as the vocals were overdubbed.

A double vinyl edition of the remaster was released through Tonefloat on 8 July 2008, in memory of Michael Piper, a member of the Porcupine Tree crew, founder of the Gates Of Dawn record label, who died in April 2008. It was available in a limited run of 1,000 numbered copies on 180 grams coloured vinyl in gatefold picture sleeve and a regular edition on 180 grams black vinyl in gatefold picture sleeve.


level   (95/100)
level   (80/100)
아름다운 PT 음악...
level   (90/100)
ďalšie podarené album striedajúce progressive rock s alternative/psychedelic rockom
level   (100/100)
아름다운 것엔 가시가 있는 법입니다. 이 나무도 그런 것 같네요
level   (95/100)
아무리 들어도 나에게 최고작은 이거다.


Album titleTypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
preview Studio 80 10
preview Studio 90 20
preview Studio 93.3 30
preview Studio 95 10
preview Studio 87.5 40
preview Studio 92 50
preview Studio 94 50
preview Studio 92.2 90
preview Studio 91.9 80
preview Studio 90 20
Info / Statistics
Artists : 28,515
Albums : 102,568
Reviews : 6,587
Lyrics : 96,275
Top Rating
 rating : 91  votes : 19
Stick It to Ya
 rating : 83.8  votes : 10
Kindly Bent to Free Us
 rating : 80.4  votes : 15