Log In
Register   Help
My album reviews/commentsMy collectionMy wish list

Tears of the Sun

Release date
GenresSymphonic Metal, Neoclassical Power Metal
LabelsZeno Records Japan
Running time21:54
Reviews :  1
Comments :  0
Total votes :  1
Rating :  85 / 100
Have :  0       Want : 0
Write a Comment
Write a Review
Add to Collection
Add to Wish List
Submitted by level 모흐
Last modified by level Eagles
Videos by  youtube
Tears of the Sun Information

Track listing (Songs)

1.Tears of the Sun4:29-0
2.We Against3:42-0
3.The Crucifixion4:31-0
4.Guilty as Sin4:02-0
5.Topaz -Symphonic Ver.-5:10-0

Line-up (members)

  • Zin : Vocals, Lyrics (tracks 2, 4)
  • Hizaki : Guitars, Synth Programming, Music, Lyrics (tracks 1, 3-5)
  • Teru : Guitars
  • Rucy : Bass
  • Daisuke : Drums

Guest / additional musicians

  • Rookie Fiddler : Synth Programming

Production staff / artist

  • Hizaki : Producer
  • Yuji Yoshida : Mixing, Recording Engineer
  • Stuart Hawkes : Mastering Engineer
  • Takamasa Nishibayashi : Art Direction, Design

Tears of the Sun Reviews

Reviewer :  level   (85/100)
Date : 
After the departure of bassist Masashi and drummer Yuki, Jupiter released the single "The Spirit Within Me", which featured Rucy and Daisuke playing bass and drums, respectively, as guest musicians. However, it wasn't long before they joined Jupiter as band members. A few months later, the new line-up released their latest work: "Tears of the Sun".

There are several things that quite surprised me whilst listening to this EP. First of all, their sound is progressively becoming darker. Unlike many bands who soften throughout the years, Jupiter seem to have much interest in adding death metal traits -we could already see this in previous songs such as "Allegory Cave" or "Darkness"- and atmospheric elements into their musical pieces -just listen to the track "The Crucifixion"-. It is precisely in this song where Zin delivers an impressive performance by blending his tenor voice with death metal growls. Nevertheless, Jupiter's unique sound is still very recognizable, and a great example of it is the title track, in which the initial chorus followed by a blast of symphonic metal and the melodic, neoclassical and highly proficient guitar solos by Hizaki and Teru are the band’s trademark.

Secondly, the production –both mixing and mastering- is simply flawless. It is so polished that it reminded me of albums like “Into the Legend” by Rhapsody of Fire, where it is a noticeable feature. Moreover, the lyrics fit in extremely well with the aforementioned dark sound. Although I don’t understand Japanese, the English verses depict feelings of struggle in our current society, going against the established order and so forth: “Live the pain and keep the struggle alive” or "I don't know why I was given breath, yet I still must go find the answer, no matter what". Finally, the musicianship is undeniable. Regarding the new members, their contribution is significant and they have their moments –for instance, the bass in “We Against” and in “Guilty as Sin” or the drumming in the third track-, but the symphonic elements and the guitars are the evident focus, and they take the stage.

Overall, Tears of the Sun is a really good release which represents the new phase Jupiter is entering. Not only have they maintained their characteristic sound, but they are also taking a new direction into heavier territories, in my opinion. Highly recommended for symphonic/power metal fans.

Originally written for: http://www.metalmusicarchives.com/

Jupiter Discography

Album titleTypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
preview Studio 80.6 83
preview Studio 73 51
preview EP 85 11
Info / Statistics
Artists : 30,859
Albums : 109,641
Reviews : 6,966
Lyrics : 125,541
Top Rating
 Judas Priest
'98 Live Meltdown
 rating : 85.3  votes : 17
On the Steps of the Temple
 rating : 92.2  votes : 9
 Pain of Salvation
 rating : 91.2  votes : 25