Login  Register  Help
My album reviews/comments My collection My wish list


TypeStudio Full-length
Release date
GenresDeath Metal
LabelsNuclear Blast
Running time42:22
Reviews :  1
Comments :  1
Total votes :  2
Rating :  81.5 / 100
Have :  4       Want : 0
Write a Comment
Write a Review
Add to Collection
Add to Wish List
Submitted by level Eagles
Last modified by level Besi Karat
Videos by  youtube

Track listing (Songs)

1.Impotent God3:49-0
2.Suffering Souls3:27-0
4.Jesus Fall3:28-0
5.God Is A Lie2:59-0
6.Left To Rot3:34-0
7.Burn By The Cross4:47-0
8.To Escape Is To Die3:54-0
9.Take The Throne5:21-0

Line-up (members)

  • Masse Broberg : Vocals (tracks 1-9)
  • Peter Tägtgren : Guitars, Keyboards (track 10), Vocals (track 10), Drums (tracks 1-3, 5-8)
  • Jonas Österberg : Guitars
  • Mikael Hedlund : Bass
  • Lars Szöke : Drums (tracks 4, 9, 10)
Catalogue # NB 067
Catalogue # NBA RED 60 55-2 (American release)

Recorded at Studio Rockshop.
Composed by Hypocrisy.

God Is a Lie was titled God Is A... on the original pressing of the back cover. Probably because at the time due to the controversy from Dismember & Pungent Stench, Nuclear Blast mostly likely wanted to avoid more legal issues.

Reissued by Nuclear Blast in 1996 and by Metal Mind Productions on May 12th 2008 and digitally remastered using 24-bit process on a golden disc limited edition to 2000 numerated copies both in a digipak with the bonus tracks:
11. Life of Filth (Originally exclusive to the DEATH... Is Just the Beginning II compilation) (3:56)
12. Lead by Satanism (5:16)

LP released in clear blue vinyl.

Original picture LP Came with bonus track:
11. Lead by Satanism (5:16)

Remastered again in 2013 by Nuclear Blast as limited two-disc box edition with Osculum Obscenum. The first disc features the entire album in remaster with live version of "Left to Rot" and "God is a Lie" as bonus tracks. The second disc is the remastered version of Osculum Obscenum with "Pleasure of Molestation", "Osculum Obscenum" and "Necronomicon" as bonus tracks. Available through Nuclear Blast on July 12 2013.

Left: Original artwork. Right: Double album remastered version.

Lyrics were not printed in this album. Do NOT add guessed lyrics, from the internet.


Reviewer :  level   (75/100)
Date : 
스웨덴 Melodic Death Metal의 중심지하면 예테보리가 대번에 떠오를 것이다. 그러나 예테보리가 90년대 중반 갑작스럽게 유명해지기 전에 스웨덴 데스 메탈씬의 중심도시는 이 나라의 수도인 스톡홀름이었다. 이 지역을 중심으로 하여 탄생한 데스 메탈 밴드들은 오늘날 예테보리 출신의 밴드들 만큼의 주목을 끌어내지는 못했지만, 이들은 90년대 초 북유럽 데스 메탈의 기틀을 다졌다는 점에서 큰 의미가 있다. Hypocrisy는 90년대 초 스웨덴에서 일어났던 데스 메탈 무브먼트의 주역 중 하나로 뛰어난 작품 활동을 벌인 밴드이다. 이들이 90년대 중반 예테보리 지역에서 발흥한 일단의 밴드들과의 결정적인 차이는 밴드의 음악적 기반이 American Death Metal이라는 점이다. Dark Tranquillity, At the Gates 같은 멜로딕 데스 메탈을 개척한 밴드들의 음악적 기원을 더듬어 가다보면 필연적으로 만나게 되는 존재는 독일 Thrash Metal의 주역들인 Kreator, Sodom, Destruction이다. 똑같은 데스 메탈의 범주에 들어가면서도 양자의 뿌리는 이처럼 달랐다. 예테보리 지역을 기반으로한 데스 메탈 밴드들이 오늘날 익숙한 멜로딕한 데스 메탈 밴드의 전형이라면, 그 이전에 스톡홀름을 중심으로 한 밴드들은 멜로디보다는 리프나 그루브감을 상대적으로 강조했다. Hypocrisy의 데뷔 앨범을 들어보면 이러한 차이를 느낄 수 있다. 90년대 중반에 나타난 멜로딕 데스 메탈 밴드들에 비해 좀더 거친 면이 부각된다. 이들의 데뷔 앨범 Penetralia는 미국의 원류 데스 메탈에 비해 멜로디를 많이 집어 넣기는 했지만, Dark Tranquillity나 초기 In Flames에 익숙한 리스너에게는 텁텁하게 느껴질 것이다. 그러나 리프와 그루브 중심의 묵직한 느낌의 데스 메탈을 선호하는 리스너라면, 이 앨범은 충분히 들어볼 만 할 것이다.


level   (88/100)
this album kinda insane... an album cover is great... i like the song "Nightmare" with purely death metal...


Album titleRankTypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
preview Studio 81.5 21
preview Studio 90 41
preview Studio 80 10
preview Studio 87.5 20
preview Studio 88.3 40
preview Studio 85 10
preview Studio 79.5 40
preview 3,361Studio 74.2 50
preview Studio 72 20
preview 701Studio 90 141
preview 636Studio 91.2 120
preview 2,464Studio 82.5 100
Info / Statistics
Bands : 28,005
Albums : 100,980
Reviews : 6,543
Lyrics : 90,408
Top Rating
 Devil Doll
 rating : 89.5  votes : 10
 Scar Symmetry
The Unseen Empire
 rating : 85  votes : 30
The Mystery of Time
 rating : 86.9  votes : 48