Log In
Register   Help
My album reviews/commentsMy collectionMy wish list
Chimaira - This Present Darkness cover art

This Present Darkness

Release date
GenresNu Metal, Groove Metal
LabelsEast Coast Empire Records
Running time22:30
Reviews :  0
Comments :  0
Total votes :  0
Rating :  -
Have :  0       Want : 0
Write a Comment
Write a Review
Add to Collection
Add to Wish List
Submitted by level 김한별
Last modified by level Besi Karat
Videos by  youtube
This Present Darkness Information

Track listing (Songs)

1.This Present Darkness5:16-0
2.Painting White to Grey4:31-0
5.Lend a Hand4:45-0

Line-up (members)

  • Mark Hunter : Vocals
  • Rob Arnold : Guitars
  • Jason Hager : Guitars
  • Jim LaMarca : Bass
  • Andols Herrick : Drums
  • Chris Spicuzza : Keyboards, Backing Vocals
  • Guest/Session
  • Doug Esper : Vocals on "Silence" [Hidden Track]
  • John Marino : Vocals on "Silence" [Hidden Track]
  • Rob : Vocals on "Empty" [Hidden Track]
  • Ben Schigel : Vocals on "Satan's Wizard" [Hidden Track]
  • Dan Pelleteir : Vocals on "Silence" [Hidden Track]
Recorded in three days (November 1st to 3rd, 1999).

There are 69 tracks to this album. Track 13 is called "Empty" (6:23) and 14 is called "Silence" (3:21). Track 69 is the joke song called "Satan's Wizards"(2:07). Tracks 6-12 and 15-68 are all three seconds long containing nothing.

The hidden tracks, "Empty" and "Silence" were recorded with original bassist, AE. The band wanted the songs to be on the record and for AE to be part of the record but they didn't have the money to bring him in to re-record them so they used the demo versions of the tracks. The two tracks are hidden so that the CD can be sold at the price of an EP.

"Empty" features guest vocals from Rob of the band Canister.

"Silence" features guest vocals from John Marino, Doug Esper, and Dan Pelleteir.

The sample at the end of "Sphere" is taken from a movie which the band are big fans of, "The Shawshank Redemption".

The joke song "Satan's Wizard" isn't live. Fake crowd noise was added to the recording, the high pitched vocals are done by Ben Schigel of Sw1tched (the producer of this EP). At the end of the song, he on purpose mispronounces the word 'Chimaira'.

This EP was reissued a couple of times with different tracklisiting:

The version that came with the 'Dehumanizing Process' DVD:
1. This Present Darkness
2. Painting The White To Grey
3. Divination
4. Sphere
5. Lend A Hand
6. Empty
7. Silence
8. Gag
9. Refuse To See *

'Darkness Inside' (Unofficial) Reissue came with these bonus tracks:
1. This Present Darkness (1999) *
2. Divination (1999) *
3. Forced Life
4. Refuse To See *
5. Severed
6. Taste My...
7. Dead Inside
8. Vexation
9. Gag
10. Fascination Street
11. Dead Inside (Live)

'Darker Than Hate' (Unofficial Promo):
1. Dead Inside (live)
2. Dead Inside
3. Divination
4. Divination (1999) *
5. Empty
6. Fascination Street (the Cure cover track)
7. Forced Life
8. Gag
9. Lend A Hand
10. Painting The White To grey
11. Refuse to See *
12. Satan's Wizard
13. Severed
14. Silence
15. Sphere
16. Stay The Same (The Impossibility of Reason B-side)
17. Taste My...
18. This Present Darkness (1999 version) *
19. This Present Darkness
21. Balls to the Wall (Accept cover)(from ECW Anarchy Rocks)

* From the 1999 'Chimaira' demo.

Chimaira Discography

Album titleTypeRelease dateRatingVotesReviews
preview EP - 00
preview EP - 00
preview Studio 71.3 41
preview Studio 88 81
preview Studio 88.8 50
preview Studio 83.1 70
preview Studio - 00
preview Studio 84.2 50
preview EP - 00
preview Studio 70 40
Info / Statistics
Artists : 30,889
Albums : 109,771
Reviews : 6,975
Lyrics : 127,633
Top Rating